066/101 | The Three Glorious Days of Your Life

A quote by William Barclay goes:

There are two great days in a person’s life: The day we are born and the day we discover the reason why.

No need to explain why birthdays are so special. Just the fact that the world spend millions (if not billions) on parties to celebrate the day we came into this world is enough proof that birthdays are GREAT days.

Last year, I asked myself this question:

Why am I here?

That was the time when I SERIOUSLY asked myself that question. I’ve heard about it many times when I was still a student but to pause and find the answers that would create a huge impact on how I’m going to live for the rest of my life is a totally different thing.

My dream when I was a kid was to finish school and get a job “abroad”. That was everybody’s dream though. And I thought once you start living that dream you just have to enjoy it and wait for your retirement to do the things you really wanted to do. Then you’ll be happy.

I was wrong.

Wrong in a sense that that childhood dream wasn’t entirely MY dream. Half of that dream was from the culture and society where I was raised.

I looked back through the years of my life and found that my creative self has been dying to express and shine as it should be. I remember I wanted to be an artist at some point when I was still unable to decide what I truly wanted to do with my life. But I never openly welcomed the thought of becoming an artist because people gave me that impression that an artist’s life is miserable and lacks direction.

Technically, I am living my childhood dream. I graduated with flying colors and currently work in an Intensive Care Unit in one of the big hospitals in New Zealand. It’s amazing and I am so grateful for how my life turned out.

But I realized there is something more to life than my dream of finishing school and getting a good job.

That’s how I started asking the question: Why am I here?

In other words, what is the purpose of my existence?

It may sound overrated for some but it was one of the most sensible questions I’ve asked myself for over twenty five years of existing. It wasn’t very easy for me and took me a while to find the answers.

But when I found the answers, the joy was so intense that I wept for hours.

Indeed, it was another GREAT day in my life.

When you discover the reason why you’re here, you stop existing. Because you start LIVING.

And the day you start living is the start of another GREAT DAY in your life. The good thing is that it’s not just one day. It’s going to be for the rest of your life as long as you spend your days fulfilling that purpose.

Let me end this post by rephrasing the quote I used in the beginning:

There are three glorious days in your life: the day you are born, the day you discover why you are born, and the day you start fulfilling the purpose why you are born.

How about you? Do you know why you are here?

Check my other photos under

101 CONTEMPLATIVE PHOTOGRAPHY PROJECT

Hit the “like” button if you enjoyed reading this post. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

