002/101 | Remnant

Growing old is a fact of life. It is inescapable. It is everyone’s destiny.

As a kid I was scared that my parents become old. I didn’t want to see them with wrinkled skin and gray hair with stooped posture as if youth has finally escaped. It’s not that I don’t want to look after them if I have to. I just want them to look the way they are when they were in their forties forever – normally active and full of energy, always strong and there for you because ‘they are my parents and that’s how parents should be’.

Now, as an adult, I learned to fully and wholeheartedly accept that growing old is a fact of life. It is inescapable. It is everyone’s destiny.

This is a photo of the ovaries of the white roses that bloomed last summer. They are the remnants of the flowers’ glory once admired by all. But I see this stage as having a distinctive beauty of its own.

Whilst growing old is not an option, we still have a choice to embrace this part of our journey gracefully. And whilst looks change and we eventually have to let go of many things, life still offers us a wonderful opportunity to keep those things that last: good memories, faith, wisdom and love.

Leave a Reply

