Genesis

This is the moment I’ve been waiting for.

It’s been a while since I have this desire to create a blog and for some reason it’s simply not happening. Not until today.  Today is the beginning of a new journey of sharing part of me to everyone through all sorts of things that I believe make life interesting.

Explore! Dream! Discover!

I was cleaning my room this morning and I came across one of those post-its piled on my computer table. I like writing down my “to do” lists on those little sticky notes and one of those I made after Christmas last year was still there. Second on the list was: Start a blog. And I wondered why I haven’t tick it off. Why?

Procrastination.

I procrastinate even if I know it’s not going to help me. There are times when I convince myself that I am an organized person. Perhaps in some things but just like almost everyone there are many times when I tend to make excuses and tell myself I’ll wait for that “perfect moment”. But unfortunately “perfect moment” never comes – unless I take action. I therefore conclude that I need to live life deliberately – and make things happen.

I always remember what Jason Fried and David Hansson wrote in their book Rework:

Don’t let yourself off the hook with excuses. It’s entirely your responsibility to make your dreams come true.

I couldn’t agree more. If I won’t do something about my dream of writing and creating a blog, such dream will remain a dream. And that’s very sad. I guess same principle applies to every dream we have. No matter how magnificent our ideas are they mean nothing until we start acting on them. After all “what you do is what matters, not what you think or say or plan.”

I realize I put off doing something because I buy into the assumption that I have enough time tomorrow – I have “next time”. It’s true. But not always.

“Time is all you have… and you may find one day that you have less than you think,” as Randy Pausch put it.

I’m excited. I’m thrilled. And I’m happy that this moment has come. I’m celebrating!

One thought on “Genesis

  1. Pingback: Stop Dreaming. Start Doing. | Artistico

Leave a Reply

